site image

site image

Fax: 1-254-207-0678

Board Members

Independent Funeral Directors Association of Texas, Inc.

Board Members – 2022 - 2024


Tony Hendricks, CFSP


Kevin Haynes, CFSP


Norris Jackson, CFSP


Brian Nickerson, CFSP


Don Summers, CFSP


Charlotte Faggett


Paula Porter


Janice Matthews, CFSP


Rev. James Bryant


Emanual Pruitt

Board Responsibilities

Chairman of the Board: The Chairman of the Board shall preside at all meetings of the Board of Directors and shall supervise the exercise of all powers granted to the Board of Directors. The Chairperson may call a meeting of the Executive Committee. The Chairperson will assist current President with reports and transition.

President: The President shall preside at all meetings of the Association. He/she shall have the authority to call special meetings. He/she shall perform all duties generally incumbent upon his/her office and perform all such duties as is customary by a President. The President shall attend, including but not limited to, all National Meetings, House of Representatives Meeting, Board of Directors Meeting, National and State Conventions, and District Meeting. The President shall be responsible for appointing standing committees and creating convention schedule. The President/Designee will attend funeral for state association members.

President Elect & Vice Presidents: The First and Second Vice-President shall assume the Chair at the request of the President and assist him/her in any manner the President requests. The First Vice-President shall assume the office of the Presidency in case of the death of the President or his/her resignation.

Executive Secretary: The Executive Secretary shall direct the affairs of the State Association when not in Convention under the supervision of the President, and the Board of Directors; to travel and organize local and district Associations, all correspondence for the Association; be Custodian of the Records and Seal of the Association; supervise and manage all arrangements for the program of any Board Meeting or State Convention. The Executive Secretary shall receive all dues and other finances coming into the Association, giving receipts, and turning same over to the Treasurer within fifteen (15) days after receipt or same when the Association is not in session. He/she shall keep accurate records and make annual reports, to include but not limited to, Fall Board Meeting, Spring Board Meeting and State Convention, to the Association.

Secretary: The Recording Secretary shall keep the minutes of the Association. The Recording Secretary shall attend, including but not limited to, all, Board of Directors Meeting, State Conventions, and District Meeting.

Treasurer: The Treasurer shall supervise all receipts and monies of the Association, cause them to be deposited in the name of the Association in a bank or banks approved by the Board of Directors, and shall authorize, upon proper voucher, the disbursement of funds when ordered or authorized by the Budget approved by the Association or theses By-Laws. He shall cause to be kept regular accounts of the Administration and Finance Committee and give an itemized report of all regular meetings of the Administration and Audit Committee. The Treasurer shall not collect receipts for nor disburse or withdraw funds or property of this Association. Each disbursement transaction or withdrawal of Association funds shall be made by the Executive Secretary or Chairman of the Board.

Chaplain: The Chaplain shall conduct devotion for the Association; opening and closing all meetings and perform such duties as requested of him/her by the President of the Association.

Sergeant-At-Arms: The Sergeant-At-Arms shall keep order at all meetings and assist in other duties as may be required and requested by the Chair. Sgt-At-Arms will collect all excess and leftover documents intended for members only.

Parliamentarian: It shall be the duty of the Parliamentarian to maintain order at any authorized meeting according to Robert’s Rules of Order and the by-laws. The Parliamentarian shall follow an approved Procedural manual as authorized by this association.

District Representatives: District Representatives shall be the liaison for their district to the state association.

Past Presidents

  • Bismark Thomas
  • Charles Warford 1977-1979
  • William Russo 1986-1988
  • Andrew Young, Sr 1988-1990
  • Robert Dorsey, Sr 1990-1992
  • Oliver Lomax 1992-1994
  • Geraldine Cunningham 1994-1996
  • Barry J.W. Franklin 1996-1998
  • Francine Sparrow 1998-2000
  • Milton Holmes 2000-2002

  • Noel Cotton 2002-2004
  • Charlotte Faggett 2004-2006
  • Dennis Diggs 2006-2008
  • Don Summers 2008 -2010
  • Thomas Cunningham 2010-2012
  • Sam Guess 2012-2014
  • Delbert Jackson 2014-2016
  • Janice Matthews 2016-2018
  • Ramona Sheffield 2018-2020
  • Tony Hendricks 2020-2022

Office Honor Roll

Click on the graphic on the left to download the file.

Life Members

  • Leon Williams
  • Chester Cary II, CFSP
  • Robert Dorsey
  • Emanuel Pruitt

© 2024 Independent Funeral Directors of Texas Association. All Rights Reserved. Funeral Home website by CFS & TA | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Accessibility